2003 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • Charles R. Conrad, Texas A&M University

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • Debora Marsh

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

  • Shirlee Levin, College of Southern Maryland

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • Wil A. Linkugel


Scholarship Awards

Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication

  • Thomas J. Socha, Old Dominion University

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Austin S. Babrow, “Communication and Problematic Integration: Understanding Diverging Probability and Value, Ambiguity, Ambivalence, and Impossibility.” Communication Theory 2 (1992): 95-130.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award

  • Mary Douglas Vavrus, Postfeminist News: Political Women in Media Culture. (SUNY Press, 2002).

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Roderick P. Hart

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Matthew Bunker, Critiquing Free Speech:  First Amendment Theory and the Challenge of Interdisciplinarity (Lawrence Erlbaum, 2001).

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • Harold L. Goodall, Jr.

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • James Jerry Kimble, University of Maryland. “Mobilizing the Home Front: War Bonds, Morale, and the U.S. Treasury's Domestic Propaganda Campaign, 1942-1945,” (Shawn J. Parry-Giles, advisor).
  • Derek Goldman, Northwestern University. “The Politics and Poetics of Adaptation:  Leon Forrest's Divine Days,” (Dwight Conquergood, advisor).
  • David Winterstein, University of Washington. “Language and Media in the Promotion of the Breton Cultural Identity in the European Union,” (Nancy K. Rivenburgh, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • Kirt H. Wilson, The Reconstruction Desegregation Debate: The Politics of Equality and Rhetoric of Place, 1870-75 (Michigan State University Press, 2003).

James L. Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award

  • Allison Gleghorn, Missouri State University

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Garth R. Pauley

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance

  • Ruth Laurion Bowman

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • Kristin Langellier


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Peter A. Andersen

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Jody Nyquist