NCA Inside & Out

ECA Logo

Regional Association News

February 9, 2017

First Vice-President 
Dr. Rodney Reynolds (California Lutheran University) was elected as the First Vice-President.  Like many of our previous leaders, Rodney first attended a WSCA convention as an undergraduate at the Western Forensics Tournament, and is now a life member.  Over the years, Rodney has served WSCA in many ways – Communication Reports editor, author, reviewer, presenter, respondent, interest group officer (for several IGs and offices), working in the forensic tab room, and as a member of the Legislative Assembly, Executive Committee, Publication Committee, and Finance Committee.

Rodney will succeed to the position of President Elect in 2018 and will plan the 2019 convention in Seattle, and then will become President in 2020 and Immediate Past President in 2021.  He will work closely with current First Vice President Brian Heisterkamp, as Brian plans the 2018 convention.  Please join the officers and Executive Council of WSCA in congratulating Rodney on his new role.

Second Vice-President 
Donna Gotch (California State University, San Bernardino) was elected as the Second Vice-President.  Donna is also a life member and has attended the WSCA convention for 30 years.  Donna has served WSCA in multiple capacities, including as an elected member-at-large on the Legislative Assembly, Chair of the Communication and Instruction Interest Group, Director of the Basic Course Conference in 2010, and Co-Chair of the Local Hosts Committee for our 2006 Convention in Palm Springs.  She currently serves as the Legislative Assembly’s representative on the Executive Council.

Donna will be the Second Vice-President in 2017-2018.  She will work closely with current WSCA Second Vice-President Marnel Niles Goins, as Marnel plans the undergraduate Scholars’ Research Conference in Salt Lake City.  Donna will plan the Undergraduate Scholars’ Research Conference for the San Jose convention.  Please join the officers and Executive Council of WSCA in congratulating Donna on her new role.

Delegates to the Legislative Assembly
Elected delegates to the Legislative Assembly, serving two-year terms beginning with the upcoming Salt Lake City convention, are Audrey Deterding (Northern Arizona University), Aaron Hess (Arizona State University), Amy Pason (University of Nevada, Reno), Carlos Tarin (University of Texas at El Paso), and Cynthia Wang (California State University, Los Angeles).  Please join the officers and Executive Council of WSCA in congratulating all of the delegates on their new roles.

Eastern Communication Association 

ECA Annual Convention Celebrates Freedom in The Cradle of Liberty

The Eastern Communication Association is excitedly preparing for its 108th annual convention, whose theme, “Freedom to… and Freedom from…,” evokes both the opportunities and the complex tensions that mark not only our disciplinary moment, but also that of the nation at large. Communication scholars, teachers, students, and professionals will convene at Boston’s Omni Parker House on March 29 - April 2 to navigate the contested ground that is <freedom>.

Vice President and Convention Planner, Dr. Benjamin Bates, has designed a diverse program that offers a Basic Course Conference, Short Courses in the scholarship of discovery and the scholarship of teaching, the James C. McCroskey and Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference, Great Ideas For Teaching Sessions, and panels addressing freedom from the perspectives of 23 different interest groups in the communication discipline. Raymie E. McKerrow, Professor Emeritus at Ohio University’s School of Communication Studies, will deliver the Keynote Address.

Dr. McKerrow’s work in developing “critical rhetoric” has significantly influenced the understanding and practice of rhetorical criticism over the last 30 years. In his keynote, Dr. McKerrow will revisit his themes about the critique of power and the critique of freedom to suggest their relevance in today’s social and political landscape. The Keynote Address will take place at 11:00 a.m. on Friday, March 31.

ECA has also unveiled a newly-designed website at a new web address, as part of the preparations for this year’s convention. The site ensures members’ “freedom from” confusing, outdated navigation and stale content so that they can enjoy “freedom to” explore the user-friendly site and dynamic content.