NCA Inside & Out

NCA Member News

NCA Member News

July 10, 2015


Barbara A. Biesecker, University of Georgia, has been awarded the university’s 2015 Graduate School Outstanding Mentoring Award for Humanities and Fine/Applied Arts.

Cheryl L Nicholas, Penn State Berks, has been awarded the Pennsylvania State University’s Commission on LGBT Equity´s 2015 Outstanding Service Award. This award recognizes Nicholas’ service to the LGBT community as an active participant in improving the climate of diversity and inclusion for LGBT people at Penn State.

Anne Marie Todd, San Jose State University, has been awarded the university’s Outstanding Professor Award. This award recognizes a faculty member for overall academic excellence, including teaching excellence, professional activity, service, and commitment to students.

In the Media

Denise M. Bostdorff, The College of Wooster, was interviewed for an article in The Plain Dealer on LeBron James’ leadership in his first season back with the Cleveland Cavaliers. Her rhetorical analysis of James’ leadership was also featured on

Nicholas Brody, University of Puget Sound, and Anita L. Vangelisti, University of Texas at Austin, were featured in a Medical Xpress article for their research about bystander intervention in cyberbullying.

Judee Burgoon, University of Arizona, was featured in a Pittsburgh Post-Gazette article about new lie detection technology.

Robert Duran, University of Hartford, was featured in a Register Guard article about the diminishing conversation skills among young people living in the digital age.

Lisa Cuklanz, Boston College, was featured in a Refinery 29 article about the portrayal of sexual assault on television.

Kathleen Hall Jamieson, University of Pennsylvania, was featured in a New York Times article about George Stephanopoulos’ donations to the Clinton Foundation.

Jeffrey H. Kuznekoff, Miami University, was featured in a Times Higher Education article for his research on the effects of texting and tweeting in relation to student learning.

Karen Myers, University of California Santa Barbara, was featured in a Business Insider article about the workplace attitude of millennials.

Brian Southwell, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, was featured on The Academic Minute about the spread of misinformation and the implications for inaccuracy.

Glenn Sparks, Purdue University, was quoted in an Indy Star article about bystanders and violence.

In Transition

Patrice M. Buzzanell has been named the Susan Bulkeley Butler Chair for Leadership at Purdue University.

Marla D. Chisholm has been appointed Professor Emeritus at Del Mar College.

Christine S. Davis has been promoted to Full Professor at University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

Kory Floyd has been appointed Professor of Communication at the University of Arizona.  

Glenn C. Geiser-Getz has been appointed Associate Provost at East Stroudsburg University.

Shawn D. Long has been appointed Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Diversity in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

Joseph P. Mazer has been appointed Associate Professor with tenure at Clemson University.

Jonathan Potter has been appointed Dean of the School of Communication and Information at Rutgers University.

New Books

Darrel Wanzer-Serrano, The New York Young Lords and the Struggle for Liberation, Temple University Press, 978-1-43991-203-4. 

Of Interest

Kathleen Hall Jamieson delivered the Henry and Bryna David Lecture on “Communicating the Value and Values of Science” on April 28, 2015. The event was hosted by the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, DC. Jamieson is a Professor of Communication at the Annenberg School for Communication and directs the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania. Her lecture examined the roles of the scientific and journalistic communities, using examples of successes and failures in science communication in cases such as the false link between autism and vaccines; stem cell research; climate change; last winter's erroneous warnings of a New York City "Snowmageddon;” genetically modified organisms (GMOs); and the hole in the ozone layer. Jamieson has argued that “There’s a persistent gap between expert knowledge of scientific issues and public perception on myriad issues. Through empirical testing, we will examine ways to close this gap and separate the issues in communicating science from the evidence that is being presented.”

In Memoriam

Stuart Hyde, who was kind and encouraging to anyone with whom he came in contact, died in April 2015. One of his greatest accomplishments was founding and developing the Broadcast Communication Arts Department (BCA) at San Francisco State University.

A talented educator and brilliant mentor to thousands of students throughout his long career, Dr. Hyde taught at Stanford University, the University of Southern California, and San Francisco City College before choosing to teach at San Francisco State University, where he served as Chairperson of the BCA Department for decades.

In 1964, devastated by the 16th St. Church bombing in Birmingham, Alabama, he made it a priority and a policy of BCA Department to recruit African American and other minority groups as professors and students into the program. In 1969, when San Francisco State was gripped by a student strike, he quelled a potential riot by delivering an eloquent speech encouraging the crowd to use non-violent methods of expression. Subsequently, he and his family received death threats for months from the radical group known as the Weather Underground.  In 1970, Dr. Hyde took on the additional challenge of teaching Communication at San Quentin State Prison, a post he held for 11 years. 

Dr. Hyde profoundly influenced radio and television broadcasting in the Bay Area and beyond, through his years of teaching and in his leadership roles at San Francisco State. He authored widely used broadcasting textbooks, including Radio and Television Announcing and Idea to Script. In 2012, he was inducted into the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Gold Circle in recognition of his more than 50 years of outstanding contributions to the broadcast community.