NCA Inside & Out

NCA Award Winners

2015 NCA Award Winners

September 11, 2015

NCA Award Winners 

The 2015 NCA  awards will be presented to several distinguished members at the Annual Convention in Las Vegas. Award recipients will be honored at the NCA Presidential Address and Awards Presentation at 5:00 p.m. on Saturday, November 21, in the Amazon G room of the Rio Conference Center. 



Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education 

Katherine Grace Hendrix, University of Memphis

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12 

Steve Meadows, Danville High School

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award 

David Bodary, Sinclair Community College

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award 

James W. Chesebro, retired, Ball State University

William J. Seiler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln


Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication 

Michelle Miller-Day, Chapman University

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award 

Erika L. Kirby, Creighton University, and Kathleen J. Krone, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
For their article, “’The policy exists but you can’t really use it’: Communication and the structuration of work-family policies,” published in the Journal of Applied Communication Research, 30 (2002): 50-77.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award 

Michael J. Lee, College of Charleston
For his book, Creating Conservatism: Postwar Words that Made an American Movement (Michigan State University Press)

Donald P. Cushman Memorial Award 

Melissa Meade, Temple University
For her essay, “In the Shadow of the Coal Breaker: Place and Landscape in the Anthracite Coal Mining Region”

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award 

David Zarefsky, Northwestern University

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression 

Susan Balter-Reitz, Montana State University, Billings; and M. Lane Bruner, Georgia State University
For their article, “Snyder v. Phelps: The U.S. Supreme Court’s Spectacular Erasure of the Tragic Spectacle,” published in Rhetoric and Public Affairs, 16 (2013): 651-683.

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

Timothy L. Sellnow, University of Central Florida

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award 

Melissa Brough, University of California, Irvine
For her dissertation completed at University of Southern California, “Participatory Public Culture and Youth Citizenship in the Digital Age: The Medellín Model”
Advisor: Sarah Banet-Weiser and Manuel Castells

Nick Joyce, University of Maryland
For his dissertation completed at University of Arizona, “Intergroup Media Selection: Media Features and Audience’s Social Identity Motivations and Gratifications”
Advisor: Jake Harwood

Jessica Kuperavage, Pennsylvania State University
For her dissertation completed at Pennsylvania State University, “From Public Tragedy to Public Health: Public Health and the Rhetorics of Responsibility”
Advisor: Jeremy Engels

Golden Anniversary Monograph Award 

Jakob D. Jensen, University of Utah; Andy J. King, Texas Tech University; Nick Carcioppolo, University of Miami; Melinda Krakow, University of Utah; N. Jewell Samadder, University of Utah; and Susan Morgan, University of Miami
For their article, “Comparing tailored and narrative worksite interventions at increasing colonoscopy adherence in adults 50-75: a randomized controlled trial,” published in Social Science & Medicine, 104 (2014): 31-40.

James A. Winans and Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address 

Michael J. Lee, College of Charleston
For his book, Creating Conservatism: Postwar Words that Made an American Movement (Michigan State University Press)

James L. Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award 

Kiah Bennett, University of Minnesota
For her essay, “The Poehler-Fey Phenomenon”

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award 

Robin E. Jensen, University of Utah

Kohrs-Campbell Prize in Rhetorical Criticism 

Michael J. Lee, College of Charleston
For his book entitled Creating Conservatism: Postwar Words That Made an American Movement (Michigan State University Press)

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance 

Tracy Stephenson Shaffer, Louisiana State University

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies 

Joanne Gilbert, Alma College

Heidi M. Rose, Villanova University

Mark L. Knapp Award in Interpersonal Communication 

Alan L. Sillars, University of Montana

Stephen E. Lucas Debut Publication Award 

Lee M. Pierce, University of Georgia
For her article, “Rhetoric of Traumatic Nationalism in the Ground Zero Mosque Controversy,” published in Quarterly Journal of Speech 100 (2014): 53-80.



Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award 

Kathleen Galvin, Northwestern University



Stephen Browne, Penn State University
Carolyn S. Ellis, University of South Florida