NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

Wayne State University, Department of Communication

The Department of Communication at Wayne State University offers a degree program leading to the Ph.D. in Communication. Designed to establish and maintain a high standard of scholarly and academic excellence, the program is custom tailored to each student in order to meet specific academic and professional goals. Committed to research and scholarship, the program encompasses a full range of quantitative, qualitative, rhetorical, and critical approaches. Graduates of the program serve as scholars and educators, while others occupy positions as communication and creative professionals.

Carnegie "Doctoral University: Highest Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-16: 46


Concentrations/Research Emphases

  • Democratic Participation & Culture
  • Identity & Representation
  • Media, Society, & Culture
  • Risk, Crisis, & Conflict
  • Wellness, Worklife, & Relationships


NRC Assessment of Research-Doctorate Programs

  • #64 of 83 programs in Research Output
  • #16 of 83 programs in Diversity

Allen, et al., 2012

  • #35 of 60 programs by Number of Citations


  • Top Ten Research Program in 6 of 99 Research Areas

Admission Requirements

  • Application
  • GRE Scores
  • Personal Statement
  • Writing Sample
  • Letters of Recommendation

Graduate Faculty

  • Associate Professor Kelly Donnellan, M.F.A., American University
  • Assistant Professor Stine Eckert, Ph.D., University of Maryland
  • Assistant Professor Michael Fuhlhage, Ph.D., University of North Carolina
  • Assistant Professor Rosie Jahng, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Assistant Professor Kelly Jakes, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin 
  • Associate Professor Loraleigh Keashly, Ph.D., University of Saskatchewan 
  • Associate Professor Katheryn Maguire, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Associate Professor Patricia McCormick, Ph.D., Michigan State University
  • Assistant Professor Rahul Mitra, Ph.D., Purdue University
  • Assistant Professor Anita Mixon, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Associate Professor Julie Novak, Ph.D., North Dakota State University
  • Associate Professor Hayg Oshagan, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Associate Professor Donyale Padgett, Ph.D., Howard University
  • Professor Matthew Seeger, Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Associate Professor Pradeep Sopory, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Assistant Professor Elizabeth Stoycheff, Ph.D., Ohio State University
  • Associate Professor Stephanie Tong, Ph.D., Michigan State University
  • Associate Professor Fred Vultee, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Professor Lillian (Lee) Wilkins, Ph.D., University of Oregon
  • Associate Professor Kelly Young, Ph.D., Wayne State University

NCA Awards to Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship, 2017
Research Specialties : 
Intercultural-International Communication, Mass Communication-Media Studies, Risk-Science-Environmental Communication