NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of Texas, Department of Communication Studies

The Department of Communication Studies at the University of Texas seeks to understand communication and to improve its practice in a variety of relationships. The department maintains graduate programs that are ranked in the top five nationally and maintain high standards for both graduate and undergraduate teaching.

Association of American Universities Member


Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-19: 291


Areas of Study

  • Interpersonal Communication
  • Organizational Communication & Technology
  • Rhetoric, Language, and Political Communication


QS World University RankingsCommunication & Media Studies 

  •  #5 of 200 World Universities 

URAP University RankingsLanguage, Communication, & Culture

  • #2 of 300 World Universities


Admission Requirements

  • Official transcript(s) 
  • Statement of purpose
  • Brief essay of research questions
  • CV or resume
  • Writing sample
  • Brief essay of research questions
  • Three letters of recommendation 

Graduate Faculty

  • Associate Professor Dawna Ballard, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Professor Michael Butterworth, Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Professor René Dailey, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Professor John Daly, Ph.D., Purdue University
  • Associate Professor Erin Donovan, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Professor Shiv Ganesh, Ph.D, Purdue University
  • Professor Joshua Gunn, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
  • Professor Roderick Hart, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
  • Associate Professor Johanna Hartelius, Ph.D, University of Texas at Austin
  • Professor Sharon Jarvis, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Professor Matthew McGlone, Ph.D., Princeton University
  • Assistant Professor Roselia Mendez Murillo, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Professor Nik Palomares, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Assistant Professor, Ashwin Rajadesingan, Ph.D., University of Michigan
  • Professor Craig Scott, Ph.D, Arizona State University
  • Assistant Professor Samantha Shorey, Ph.D, University of Washington
  • Professor Stacey Sowards, Ph.D., University of Kansas
  • Professor Keri Stephens, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Professor Jürgen Streeck, Ph.D., Free University of Berlin
  • Professor Natalie Jomini Stroud, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
  • Associate Professor Scott Stroud, Ph.D., Temple University
  • Professor Anita Vangelisti, Ph.D., University of Texas

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Diamond Anniversary Book Award, 2012
  • Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, 2016
  • Knapp Award for Interpersonal Communication, 2016