NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of Memphis, Department of Communication

The Department of Communication at the University of Memphis is dedicated to helping students understand and promote the study of communication. To accomplish this goal, students are given opportunities to study theory, criticism, research methods, and application in a variety of communication areas.

Carnegie "Doctoral University: High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-17: 25


Areas of Study

  • Rhetoric & Media Studies
  • Health & Relational Communication


URAP University Rankings—Language, Communication & Culture 

  • #170 of 300 World Universities


Admission Requirements

  • Completed Graduate School application
  • Non-refundable fee
  • Official transcripts
  • Official test scores
  • GRE test scores
  • TOEFL test scores (where applicable)

Graduate Faculty

  • Professor David L. Appleby, M.F.A., Temple University 
  • Associate Professor Antonio de Velasco, Ph.D., Emory University
  • Assistant Professor Amanda Nell Edgar, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Associate Professor Roxana L. Gee, M.A., University of Memphis 
  • Associate Professor Joy V. Goldsmith, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
  • Assistant Professor David Goodman, M.F.A., University of North Texas
  • Professor M. Allison Graham, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Professor Katherine G. Hendrix, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Assistant Professor Andre E. Johnson, Ph.D., University of Memphis
  • Associate Professor Marina Levina, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Assistant Professor D. Gray Matthews, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
  • Assistant Professor Christina Moss, Ph.D., Louisana State University
  • Professor Steven J. Ross, M.A., New York Univeristy
  • Associate Professor Craig O. Stewart, Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University
  • Assistant Professor Sachiko Terui, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
  • Associate Professor Amanda J. Young, Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education, 2015