NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of Iowa, Department of Communication Studies

The Department of Communication Studies at the University of Iowa offers a nationally-recognized doctoral program and delivers a diverse liberal arts curriculum that provides large numbers of undergraduates with the theoretical and practical knowledge they need to succeed in a rapidly-changing world.

Association of American Universities Member


Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-19: 112


Areas of Study 

  • Interpersonal Communication & Relationships
  • Media History and Culture
  • Rhetoric, Culture, Engagement


QS World University Rankings—Communication & Media Studies 

  • #101-150 of 200 World Universities

URAP University Rankings—Language, Communication & Culture 

  • #44 of 300 World Universities


Admission Requirements 

  • A bachelor’s degree from a Regionally Accredited American College or University, or an equivalent degree from another country as determined by the Office of Admissions.
  • A minimum grade-point average (GPA) of 3.00, or the foreign equivalent as determined by the Office of Admissions.

Graduate Faculty 

  • Associate Professor Shelly Campo, Ph.D., Michigan State University 
  • Assistant Professor E. Cram, Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Professor Steve Duck, Ph.D., University of Sheffield, UK
  • Assistant Professor Natalie Fixmer-Oraiz, Ph.D., University of North Carolina
  • Professor Tim Havens, Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Associate Professor Joy Elizabeth Hayes, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego
  • Associate Professor Jiyeon Kang, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Assistant Professor Alfred L. Martin Jr., Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
  • Associate Professor Rachel McLaren, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
  • Professor Kembrew McLeod, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts
  • Assistant Professor Sylvia Mikucki-Enyart, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Assistant Professor Jenna Supp-Montgomerie, Ph.D., University of North Carolina
  • Associate Professor Rita Zajacz, Ph.D., Indiana University 

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present 

  • Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Family Communication, 2007
  • Woolbert Research Award, 2006
  • Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression, 2007
  • Winans-Wichelns Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address, 2000
  • Wallace Memorial Award, 2009, 2014
  • Kibler Memorial Award, 2004
  • Knapp Award in Interpersonal Communication, 2014