NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of California-Santa Barbara, Department of Communication

The UCSB Department of Communication is internationally known for its research and education in communication processes and effects. Their mission is to provide theoretically motivated, innovative, and rigorous research, teaching, and service. The UCSB Department of Communication help students, researchers, and professionals understand how communication is developed, interpreted, and exchanged to inform, influence, and connect across a wide range of social contexts and cultures.

Association of American Universities Member


Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-17: 62


Concentrations/Research Emphases

  • Interpersonal & Intergroup Communication
  • Media Communication
  • Organizational Communication


Neuendorf, et al., 2007 

  • #13 of 28 Communication Doctoral Degree Programs

NRC Assessment of Research-Doctorate Programs

  • #7 of 83 programs in Research Output
  • #60 of 83 programs in Diversity

Allen, et al., 2012

  • #2 of 60 programs by Number of Citations


  • Top Ten Research Program in 48 of 99 Research Areas

Admission Requirements

  • Online application.
  • Transcripts.
  • Statement of purpose; Personal achievements/contributions; Resume/CV.
  • Three letters of recommendation.
  • GRE (for all) and TOEFL (for applicants whose native language is not English) Scores.

Graduate Faculty

  • Professor Tamara Afifi, Ph.D., University of Nebraska
  • Professor Walid Afifi, Ph.D., University of Arizona
  • Professor Norah Dunbar, Ph.D., University of Arizona
  • Professor Andrew Flanagin, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Professor Jennifer Gibbs, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Professor Howard Giles, Ph.D., University of Bristol
  • Associate Professor Jennifer Kam, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
  • Assistant Professor Young Ji Kim, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Professor Daniel Linz, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Professor Dana Mastro, Ph.D., Michigan State University
  • Assistant Professor Andy Merolla, Ph.D., Ohio State University
  • Professor Miriam Metzger, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Associate Professor Karen Myers, Ph.D., Arizona State University
  • Professor Robin Nabi, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
  • Professor W. James Potter, Ph.D., Florida State University
  • Professor Scott Reid, Ph.D., University of Queensland
  • Professor Ronald E. Rice, Ph.D., Stanford University
  • Professor Cynthia Stohl, Ph.D., Purdue University 
  • Professor Michael Stohl, Ph.D., Northwestern University
  • Professor Rene Weber, Ph.D., Berlin University of Technology

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship, 2012
  • Knapp Award in Interpersonal Communication, 2009
  • Kibler Memorial Award, 2008
  • Becker Distinguished Service Award, 2012
  • Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, 2018
Research Specialties : 
Interpersonal-Small Group Communication, Mass Communication-Media Studies, Organizational Communication