NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of Arizona, Department of Communication

The Department of Communication at the University of Arizona offers studies leading to B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. degrees. It has approximately 30 graduate students and 1000 undergraduate majors. The department's strong commitment to quality teaching and research has earned its faculty and graduate students numerous teaching awards and a ranking as one of the top doctoral programs in the nation.

Association of American Universities Member


Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-17: 28


Concentrations/Research Emphases

  • Health Communication
  • Interpersonal Communication
  • Mass Communication
  • Social Influence


Neuendorf, et al., 2007

  • #14 of 28 Communication Doctoral Degree Programs

NRC Assessment of Research-Doctorate Programs

  • #4 of 83 programs in Research Output
  • #63 of 83 programs in Diversity

Allen, et al., 2012

  • #18 of 60 programs by Number of Citations


  • Top Ten Research Program in 25 of 99 Research Areas

QS World University Rankings--Communication & Media Studies

  • #151-200 of 200 World Universities

Admission Requirements

  • GPA 3.5.
  • TOEFL iBT 95, CBT 250, PB 600.
  • Writing sample (thesis chapters or prospectus preferred).
  • For GRE General Test taken before August 2011: score of 550 on Verbal, 550 on Quantitative, and 4.5 on Analytical Writing subtests. For GRE revised General Test taken August 2011 and after: score of 156 on Verbal, 146 on Quantitative, and 4.5 on Analytical Writing subtests.
  • 3 letters of recommendation addressing the applicant’s academic and intellectual qualifications.
  • Statement of Purpose.
  • Official transcript of credits earned from ALL colleges and universities attended.

Graduate Faculty

  • Professor Joseph Bonito, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Associate Professor Catherine Brooks, Ph.D., University of California
  • Professor Ed Donnerstein, Ph.D., Florida State University
  • Professor Kory Floyd, Ph.D., University of Arizona
  • Professor Jake Harwood, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Associate Professor Kate Kenski, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania 
  • Assistant Professor Matthew Lapierre, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
  • Associate Professor Maggie Pitts, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
  • Professor Stephen Rains, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Professor Chris Segrin, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Professor Patricia Sias, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Associate Professor Jennifer Stevens Aubrey, Ph.D., University of Michigan
  • Associate Professor Kyle Tusing, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Diamond Anniversary Book Award, 2012
  • Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, 2001, 2015
Research Specialties : 
Health Communication, Interpersonal-Small Group Communication, Mass Communication-Media Studies, Persuasion-Social Influence