NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

Indiana University, The Media School

For students interested in academic research into subjects such as media processes and effects, media psychology, media and sexuality, communications and politics, communications law, journalism and topics involving communications.

Association of American Universities Member


Carnegie "Doctoral University: Highest Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-15: 72


Concentrations/Research Emphases

  • Media Effects
  • Media Psychology
  • Media & Sexuality
  • Communications & Politics
  • Communications Law


  • None

Admission Requirements

  • Master’s or comparable degree from a recognized institution 
  • Verbal and quantitative GRE scores above 152 and analytical score above 4.0 
  • Statement of purpose 
  • Three letters of recommendation 
  • Paper TOEFL score greater than 600, computer-based TOEFL score greater than 250, or Internet-based TOEFL score greater than 100 for international students 
  • A writing sample 
  • A curriculum vitae 

Graduate Faculty

  • Associate Professor Akin Adesokan, Ph.D., Cornell University 
  • Assistant Professor Nicholas Browning, Ph.D., University of Georgia
  • Assistant Professor Cara Caddoo, Ph.D., CUNY 
  • Associate Professor Edward Castronova, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin 
  • Professor Barbara Cherry, Ph.D., Northwestern University 
  • Associate Professor Galen Clavio, Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Assistant Professor Suzannah Evans Comfort, Ph.D., University of North Carolina
  • Associate Professor Mike Conway, Ph.D., University of Texas 
  • Associate Professor Stephanie DeBoer, Ph.D., University of Southern California 
  • Assistant Professor Elizabeth Ellcessor, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin 
  • Associate Professor Anthony Fargo, Ph.D., University of Florida 
  • Associate Professor Julia Fox, Ph.D., Cornell University 
  • Associate Professor Terri Francis, Ph.D., University of Chicago 
  • Professor Walter Gantz, Ph.D., Michigan State University 
  • Professor Raiford Gluins, Ph.D., University of Leeds
  • Assistant Professor Amy Gonzales, Ph.D.,Cornell University 
  • Professor Maria Elizabeth Grabe, Ph.D., Temple University 
  • Associate Professor Mary L. Gray, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego 
  • Associate Professor Joan Hawkins, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley 
  • Assistant Professor Minjeong Kang, Ph.D., Syracuse University 
  • Associate Professor Jim Kelly, Ph.D., Indiana University 
  • Professor Annie Lang, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin 
  • Assistant Professor Gerry Lanosga, Ph.D., Indiana University 
  • Associate Professor Jae Kook Lee, Ph.D., University of Texas 
  • Professor Lesa Hatley Major, Ph.D., Louisiana State University 
  • Assistant Professor Julien Mailland, Ph.D., University of Southern California 
  • Associate Professor Joshua Malitsky, Ph.D., Northwestern University 
  • Professor Michael T. Martin, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts 
  • Professor Shannon Martin, Ph.D., University of North Carolina 
  • Assistant Professor Nicole Martins, Ph.D., University of Illinois 
  • Professor Michael McGregor, J.D., Georgetown University 
  • Associate Professor Emily Metzgar, Ph.D., Louisiana State University 
  • Assistant Professor Jessica Gall Myrick, Ph.D., University of North Carolina 
  • Professor Radhika Parameswaran, Ph.D., University of Iowa 
  • Associate Professor Bryant Paul, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara 
  • Assistant Professor Jason Peifer, Ph.D., Ohio State University
  • Associate Professor Rob Potter, Ph.D., Indiana University 
  • Assistant Professor Ryan Powell, Ph.D., King's College, UK 
  • Professor Harmett Sawhney, Ph.D., University of Texas 
  • Professor & Dean James Shanahan, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts 
  • Associate Professor Jon Simons, Ph.D., Hebrew University, Jersusalem 
  • Professor Gregory Waller, Ph.D., SUNY-Stony Brook 
  • Associate Professor Andrew Weaver, Ph.D., University of Illinois 
  • Assistant Professor Paul Wright, Ph.D., University of Arizona 
  • Associate Professor Sung-Un Yang, Ph.D., University of Maryland 


Indiana University also offers a Ph.D. in English with a focus on Rhetorical Studies.

Research Specialties : 
Mass Communication-Media Studies, Political Communication