NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

Colorado State University, Department of Communication Studies

The Department of Communication Studies at Colorado State University is a collaborative community that creates a cadre of scholars and practitioners capable of engaging with academic and professional communities to meet the challenges of our increasingly interdependent and globally diverse social worlds. Our doctoral program offers a rigorous scholarly experience with maximum flexibility.

  • Candidates develop programs of study tailored to their unique professional goals, choosing courses from our three departmental specializations.
  • Doctoral students teach a variety of undergraduate courses, and they are mentored by acclaimed scholars engaged in leading-edge research.
  • We have distinctive programmatic features that you won’t find anywhere else in the nation, including the Center for Public Deliberation and the ACT Human Rights Film Festival.
  • We train students as scholars, practitioners, and professionals who are well-prepared for the academic job market and skilled at translating their research for diverse civic and professional audiences.
Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-19: 25


Areas of Study

  • Rhetoric and Civic Engagement
  • Relational and Organizational Communication
  • Film and Media Studies




Admission Requirements 

  • Online Application
  • Statement of Purpose
  • Transcripts
  • CV/Resume
  • Three letters of reference
  • Writing Sample

Graduate Faculty

  • Professor Karrin Vasby Anderson, Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Professor Eric Aoki, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Professor Carl Burgchardt, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Professor Martín Carcasson, Ph.D., Texas A&M University
  • Associate Professor Hye Seung Chung, Ph.D., U.C.L.A
  • Professor Greg Dickinson, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Professor Scott Diffrient, Ph.D., U.C.L.A
  • Associate Professor Thomas R. Dunn, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
  • Assistant Professor Evan Elkins, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Associate Professor Meara Faw, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Professor Katie Gibson, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
  • Associate Professor Kit Hughes, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Assistant Professor Morgan Johnson, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
  • Associate Professor Julia Khrebtan-Hörhager, Ph.D., University of Denver
  • Assistant Professor Katherine Knobloch, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Associate Professor Ziyu Long, Ph.D., Purdue University
  • Associate Professor Nick Marx, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Assistant Professor Elizabeth Parks, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Associate Professor Elizabeth Williams, Ph.D., Purdue University

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Stephen E. Lucas Debut Publication Award, 2011, 2021
  • Golden Anniversary Monograph Award, 2012, 2017
  • Winans-Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address, 2014
  • James L. Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award, 2018