2017 Call for Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education Selection Committee

June 01, 2017

One Position, for a member from a two-year institution, to serve a three-year term starting in January 2018 

The Educational Policies Board requests nominations for a committee member to serve on the selection committee for the Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education.  The Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education is given to honor an NCA member who exemplifies superlative teaching in higher education.   Award winners hold a master’s degree or higher in the communication discipline; hold a full-time teaching assignment at an institute of higher education at the time of nomination; and have a superlative teaching record. 

Qualifications: Nominees should be at the mid-career stage or beyond.

This committee is comprised of representatives from 2 and 4-year institutions, and the immediate past award winner. 

This year the EPB seeks a faculty member or administrator in a two-year college, or one who has retired from such a post, and who has had at least 10 years of teaching experience; or an individual engaged in a nonacademic professional position in the field (e.g., communication consultant), or who has retired from such a post, who has had at least five years of teaching experience. This person will serve for a three year term and will chair the committee in the last year of that term.

Self-nominations are encouraged. 

Nominations for the committee member position must include the following materials (copies will not be returned):

  • a cover letter nominating the person for the position, limited to two pages and providing a detailed rationale for why the person should be considered for the committee and their willingness to serve a full term
  • the nominee’s vita
  • up to three letters supporting the nomination

Nominations should be sent as a Microsoft Word or PDF attachment to Scott A. Myers, EPB Director, at scott.myers@mail.wvu.edu by June 1, 2017.