Theatre, Film, and New Multi-Media Division

Interest Group Award

Listed here are awards given by the Interest Group to its members. Interests Groups are smaller communities within NCA's large membership that provide a range of resources including networking opportunities, Annual Convention programming, leadership opportunities, awards, and specialized information dissemination channels, among others.

Read more about this Interest Group.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Year Award Winner
2015 M. Susan Anthony
2014 James Brandon
2013 Monica Anderson
2012 Jonas Nissen

Mid-Career Award

Year Award Winner
2015 Noah Lelek
2014 Vicki Crooks
2013 Megan Moe
2012 Patricia Friel
2012 Prairie Endres-Parnell

Top Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2014 Kirt Shineman, “Puppets Appraise the Top Goon: Masasit Mati’s ‘Top Goon’ Puppet Theatre as a Carnivalesque Critique of Syrian President Bashar Assad”

Top Student Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2014 Alane Presswood, “’Everybody is in the Labyrinth’: Subverting Gothic Traditions and Rebuilding Terministic Screens”

Debut Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2013 Serap Erincin, “Connecting to Past Performances: The Technologized Body as Archive and the Reincarnation of the Dead in the Work of the Wooster Group”

Contributed Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2013 Stephan Christopher Stifano, “Make Belief: Examining Rational and Affective Dimensions of Communication Among Creators of Narrative Film Media”