Latina & Latino Communication Studies Division

Interest Group Awards

Listed here are awards given by the Interest Group to its members. Interests Groups are smaller communities within NCA's large membership that provide a range of resources including networking opportunities, Annual Convention programming, leadership opportunities, awards, and specialized information dissemination channels, among others.

Read more about this Interest Group.

Top Student Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2019 Bernardita Yunis
2017 Victoria Alcazar
2015 Ana Gomez, “Que no te eduque la Rosa de Guadalupe; Preserving sexism through telenovelas”
2014 Bryan Thomas Walsh, “Remembering ‘The Disappeared’ along U.S.-Mexico Borderlands: Histories of State-Sanction U.S. Military Violence and the Viscera of Dissident Memory”
2012 Raquel Moreira, “Casos de uma Latina sem Casa: Thoughts on Diaspora, Home, and Immigration”

Top Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2019 Dr. Christopher Chavez
2017 Kimberly Perez
2015 Monica Gallegos and Chris Segrin, “Cultural Values and Satisfaction with Life: The Utility of Interpersonal Communication in Shedding Light on the Latino Health Paradox”
2014 Christopher Anthony Chavez, “’News with an accent’: Fusion, civic discourses and the re-negotiation of the Latino television viewer”
2012 Zazil Reyes García, “Faceless and mute: Disciplining women in Mexico’s El Mañanero”

Córdova-Puchot Scholar of the Year Award

Year Award Winner
2022 Sarah Amira de la Garza, Arizona State University
2021 Carlos A. Tarin, The University of Texas at El Paso
2020 Josue David Cisneros, The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
2019 Frank G. Perez, The University of Texas at El Paso
2018 D. Robert DeChaine, California State University, Los Angeles
2017 Stacey K. Sowards, The University of Texas El Paso
2016 No Award Given
2015 Karma R. Chávez, University of Wisconsin, Madison
2014 Richard D. Pineda, The University of Texas at El Paso
2013 Lisa A. Flores, University of Colorado, Boulder
2012 Darrel Wanzer-Serrano, Texas A&M University
2011 Roberto Avant-Mier, The University of Texas at El Paso
2010 Bernadette Marie Calafell, The University of Denver
2009 Michelle A. Holling, California State University, San Marcos
2008 Shane T. Moreman, California State University, Fresno

Outstanding Book Award

Year Award Winner
2022 Karma Chávez, The Borders of AIDS: Race, Quarantine, and Resistance, published by University of Washington Press in 2021.
2021 Lisa A. Flores, Deportable and Disposable: Public Rhetoric and the Making of “Illegal” Immigrant"
2020 Stacey Sowards, "Sí, Ella Puede! The Rhetorical Legacy of Dolores Huerta and the United Farm Workers"

Outstanding Chapter/Article Award

Year Award Winner
2022 Litzy Galarza & Paulina A. Rodríguez Burciaga, "Un Puente a la Mesa: The Role of Cultural Translators in the Production of Disney/Pixar's Coco," in Immigrant Generations, Media Representations, and Audiences, ed. Omotayo O. Banjo (Palgrave Macmillan, 2021), 155-182.
2022 José G. Izaguirre III, "Revoluciónizing América: La Revolución and Gustavo Diáz Ordaz's 1964 Inaugural Address," Quarterly Journal of Speech 108, no. 1 (2022): 1-23.
2021 Raisa F. Alvarado & Michelle A. Holling, "Sí, Ella Puede! The Rhetorical Legacy of Dolores Huerta and the United Farm Workers", published in The Routledge Handbook of Gender and Communication
2020 Carlos Tarin, “Buen Vivir: Indigeneity, Environmental Activism, and Decolonial Organizing,"

Teaching and Mentorship Award

Year Award Winner
2022 Amanda Martinez, Davidson College