Freedom of Expression Division

Interest Group Awards

Listed here are awards given by the Interest Group to its members. Interests Groups are smaller communities within NCA's large membership that provide a range of resources including networking opportunities, Annual Convention programming, leadership opportunities, awards, and specialized information dissemination channels, among others.

Read more about this Interest Group.

Robert M. O’Neill Top Division Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2023 Joshua Guitar, Jennifer Hallett, and Ambyre Ponivas, "You Can't Not Spray It When You Say It: A Post-Pandemic Rhetorical Intervention at the Intersection of Free Speech, Public Health, and Harm”
2022 Dale A. Herbeck “Shurtleff v. City of Boston: One Case, Two Frames, and Three Flagpoles”
2021 Ben Medeiros “Taking Stock of the ‘Right to Be Forgotten’ Since the Enactment of the GDPR."
2020 Christopher Gilbert, “From Press Freedoms to Flashpoints in the Firestorms of Editorial Cartoons”
2019 Jason Zenor, “From Blurred Lines to Slants: Applying Free Speech Theory to IP Law"
2018 Ben Medeiros, “User-Generated Content and the Regulation of Reputational Harm: The Case of the Boston Marathon Bombing”
2017 A. Jay Wagner, "Informing the Public, Watching the Rascals: Exploring FOIA's First Amendment Ties"
2016 Sharon Docter, “Why Bloggers and Journalists Should be Treated the Same Under Libel Laws”
2015 Brian Amsden, “Rhetorical Interventions in the Law: Interpreting ‘I ♥ Boobies!’”
2014 Kevin Johnson and Craig Smith, “Fear and the First Amendment”

David R. Dewberry and Katie Langford, “Silencing Spectacles”

2003 Donald Fishman
2001 Donald Fishman
1999 Craig R. Smith, “44 Liquormart: Unanimity without Consensus”
1997 Craig R. Smith, “The Unconstitutional Nature of Product Specific Bans and Taxes: The case of Bill Board Advertising”
1995 Richard Parker, “A Marketplace of Ideas: Myths, Metaphors and Ideals in First Amendment Jurisprudence”

Top Student Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2023 Meiqing Zhang, "Evolving Relevance of Liberty and Equality in Democratic Discourse: A Semantic Approach”
2022 Averie Vockel “It's Time to SLAPP Back”
2020 Rachel Buitrago & Jane Choi, “Perceptions of Freedom of Expression on College Campuses”

Robbyn Taylor, “From Rules to Reality: DC Comics’ Place in Shifting a Genre”


Alvin Primack, “Parrhêsia: A Situational Ethics of Free Speech and Communication Law”

2017 Alvin Primack, "Youth Sexting, Child Pornography Law, and the First Amendment: Toward an Alternative Media Production and Distribution Model for Evaluating Youth Sexual Expression"