Feminist and Women Studies Division

Interest Group Award

Listed here are awards given by the Interest Group to its members. Interests Groups are smaller communities within NCA's large membership that provide a range of resources including networking opportunities, Annual Convention programming, leadership opportunities, awards, and specialized information dissemination channels, among others.

Read more about this Interest Group.

Bonnie Ritter Outstanding Feminist Book Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Leandra Hinojosa Hernandez and Sarah De Los Santos Upton, "Challenging Reproductive Control and Gendered Violence in the Americas: Intersectionality, Power, and Struggles for Rights"
2017 Sara L. McKinnon, "Gendered Asylum: Race and Violence in U.S. Law and Politics"
2016 Bonnie J. Dow, "Watching Women's Liberation"
2015 Sarah Projansky, “Spectacular Girls: Media Fascination & Celebrity Culture”
2014 Cara Wallis, “Technomobility in China: Young Migrant Women and Mobile Phones”
2013 Tasha Dubriwny, “The Vulnerable Empowered Woman: Feminism, Postfeminism, and Women’s Health”
2012 Laura L. Ellingson and Patricia J. Sotirin, “Aunting: Cultural Practices that Sustain Family and Community Life”
2011 Jane Sutton,“The House of My Sojourn: Rhetoric, Women, and the Question of Authority”
2010 Emily Chivers Yochim, “Skate Life: Re-Imagining White Masculinity”
2009 Helene A. Shugart & Catherine Egley Waggoner, “Making Camp: Rhetorics of Transgression in U.S. Popular Culture”
2008 Mary E. Triece, “On the Picket Line: Strategies of Working-Class Women During the Depression”

Top Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Michelle Coplean, "Problematizing Punjammies: Rescue Branding, Global Sisterhood, and Sexual Labor"
2017 Kate Lockwood Harris, "Yes Means Yes and No Means No, but Both These Mantras Need to Go: Communication Myths in Conesnt Education and Anti-Rape Activism"
2016 Alison Novak and Julia Richmond, “'The phrase has been hijacked:' Studying generational communication on Feminism through social media"
2015 Melinda Weathers and Jimmy Sanderson, “From Silence to #WhyIStayed: Locating Our Stories and Finding Our Voices”
2014 Dana Schowalter “A Deal with the Devil': International Governance Organizations, Transnational Corporations, and Investments in Women”
2013 Kristan Poirot, “SlutWalks, Difference, and Memories of Feminism”
2013 Sarah Blithe and Jenna Hanchey “Fleshing Out Bodyism: Illuminating Connections between Gender Verification Testing and Witch-Hunts”
2012 Margeaux Lipmann, "Redefining 'Slut': Identification and Perspective by Incongruity at SlutWalk Toronto"
2012 Michelle Rodino Colocino "Post-welfare Mothers in Wi-Fi Zones: Dreams of (Im)mobile Privatization in a Neo-post World”
2011 Deborah Ballard Reisch, Jackie Silveria Sater, Alyssa Ballard Reisch, Wichita State University, “In the Transition from Childhood to Womanhood: Constructing Coming of Age Rituals in Contemporary U.S. American Culture”
2010 Danielle Stern, “It takes a classless, heteronormative utopian village: A feminist exploration of family on Gilmore Girls”

Top Student Paper

Year Award Winner
2017 Hailey Otis, "An Inflammatory Femme and a Queer Black Feminist Form: Ashleigh Shackelford's Queering of Fat Activism Through the Polemic"
2016 Mick Brewer, On the Run Towards or Away From a Feminist Ethos?: Ambivalence and Liminal Feminism in the Beyoncé Concert Documentary On the Run
2015 Bridget Sutherland, “Affective Scripts of Intimate Violence: Writing Pain and Fear on to Bodies and into the Law”
2014 Haneen Al Ghabra, “Weaving Intersectionality through Narrative Criticism: Western Feminism and the Marginalization of Third World Feminism”
2013 Hillary Palmer, “Mexico's Drug War, Feminized: The New York Times and Visual Narratives of Dichotomized Women”
2012 Dana Schowalter, “10,000 Women Save the Bottom Line: Philanthrocapitalism and the Corporate Media Environment"
2011 Lexie Kite, “Victoria’s Secret: A Do-It-Yourself Guide to Self-Subjectification”
2010 Andrea Ellison

Outstanding Article Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Haneen Al-Ghabra and Bernadette Marie Calafell, "From failure and allyship to feminist solidarities: negotiating our privileges and oppressions across borders: Text & Performance Quarterly, 30 no 1/2 (2018): 38-54.

Scholar Activist Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Nina Maria Lozano