Disability Issues Caucus

Interest Group Award

Listed here are awards given by the Interest Group to its members. Interests Groups are smaller communities within NCA's large membership that provide a range of resources including networking opportunities, Annual Convention programming, leadership opportunities, awards, and specialized information dissemination channels, among others.

Read more about this Interest Group.

Top Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2016 Sarah Parsloe and Avery Holton, "#Boycottautismspeaks: Communicating a Counternarrative through Cyberactivism" 
2015 Erin McAloon, “Privacy Boundaries and Visible Disabilites”

Top Student Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2016 Brandon Fletcher, "Parrhesia's Parrhesia: Tropological Labor of the Dys-/Disarticulate" 
2015 Isaac Remier and Patrick Seick, “The Intersection of Disability: A Co-constructed Autoethnography of Friendship”

Jim Ferris Award for Outstanding Achievement in Disability Communication

Year Award Winner
2016 Simi Linton
2015 Dawn Braithwaite and Theresa Thompson