2012 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • Richard A. Cherwitz, University of Texas

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • No award given

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

  • Robert G. Leonard, Sinclair College

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • David Zarefsky


Scholarship Awards

Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication

  • Paul Schrodt, Texas Christian University

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • John Louis Lucaites, "Visualizing 'The People': Individualism vs. Collectivism in Let Us Now Praise Famous Men." Quarterly Journal of Speech 83 (1997): 269-288.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award

  • John Daly, Advocacy: Championing Ideas and Influencing Others (Yale University Press, 2011)
  • Kate Kenski, Bruce Hardy, & Kathleen Hall Jamieson, The Obama Victory: How Media, Money, and Message Shaped the 2008 Election (Oxford University Press, 2010).

Donald P. Cushman Memorial Award

  • David Askay, University of North Carolina-Charlotte, "Silence in the Crowd: The Spiral of Silence Contributing to the Positive Bias of Opinions in an Online Review System"

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Sonja K. Foss

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Leslie J. Reynard, "The Fire-Eaters Surrender to General Sherman: Savannah Newspapers 1864-65," Free Speech Yearbook 45 (2011): 111-130

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • Howard Giles

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Christy Ledford, George Mason University. "Improving Patient Outcomes through Physician Communication: Message Frame and Presentation Mode Influence on the Walking Behavior of Type 2 Diabetics," (Gary Kreps, advisor).
  • Thomas R. Dunn, University of Pittsburgh. "Queerly Remembered: Tactical and Strategic Rhetorics for Representing the GLBQT Past," (Lester Olson, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • Samuel McCormick, Letters to Power: Public Advocacy without Public Intellectuals (The Pennsylvania State University Press, 2011).

James L. Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award

  • Tiara Foster, Syracuse University

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Dave Tell

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance

  • Karen S. Mitchell

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • Ragan Fox

Mark L. Knapp Award in Interpersonal Communication

  • Mary Anne Fitzpatrick

Stephen E. Lucas Debut Publication Award

  • Christine J. Gardner, Making Chastity Sexy (University of California Press, 2011).


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Ronald L. Jackson II

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Linda L. Putnam