2011 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • Michael E. Roloff, Northwestern University

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • David A. Yastremski

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

  • J. Dan Rothwell, Cabrillo College

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • Cynthia Berryman-Fink


Scholarship Awards

Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication

  • Tamara Afifi, University of California, Santa Barbara

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Malcolm Parks & Kory Floyd, “Making Friends in Cyberspace.” Journal of Communication 46 (1996): 80-97.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award

  • Marwan Kraidy, Reality Television and Arab Politics: Contention in Public Life (Cambridge University Press, 2010).

Donald P. Cushman Memorial Award

  • Katie Margavio Striley, Ohio University, "Last One Picked in Gym: Reclaiming Narrative Voice in Gifted Children's Stories of Ostracism"

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Robert C. Rowland

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Michael Waltman and John Haas, The Communication of Hate (Peter Lang, 2010).

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • Joann Keyton

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Michael Serazio, University of Pennsylvania. “Your Ad Here: The Cool Sell of Guerrilla Marketing,” (Barbie Zelizer, advisor).
  • Allison M. Scott, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. “Family Conversations About End-of-Life Health Decisions,” (John P. Caughlin, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • Bradford Vivian, Public Forgetting: The Rhetoric and Politics of Beginning Again (The Pennsylvania State University Press, 2010).

James L. Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award

  • Katie Irwin, University of Illinois

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Jeremy Engels

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance

  • Elyse Lamm Pineau

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • Bruce Henderson
  • Harvey Young

Mark L. Knapp Award in Interpersonal Communication

  • Michael E. Roloff

Stephen E. Lucas Debut Publication Award

  • Thomas R. Dunn, “Remembering Matthew Shepard: Violence, Identity, and Queer Counterpublic Memories,” Rhetoric & Public Affairs 13 (2010): 611-652.


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Brian H. Spitzberg

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Orlando Taylor