2006 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • Julia Wood, University of North Carolina

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • Jean Ann Streiff

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

  • Barbara Clinton, Highline Community College

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • Beverly W. Long


Scholarship Awards

Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication

  • Dawn O. Braithwaite, University of Nebraska

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Carole Blair, Julie Brown, & Leslie Baxter, “Disciplining the Feminine.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 80, (1994): 383-409.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award

  • Angela Ray, The Lyceum and Public Culture in the Nineteenth-Century United States. (Michigan State University Press, 2005)
  • Marouf Hasian Jr., In the Name of Necessity: Military Tribunals and the Loss of American Civil Liberties. (University of Alabama Press, 2005)

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Raymie McKerrow

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Tom Tedford & Dale Herbeck, Freedom of Speech in the United States (5th ed.) (Strata Publishing, 2004).

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • Lawrence Rosenfeld

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • R. Kelly Garrett, University of Michigan. “Exposure to Controversy in an Information Society.” (Paul J. Resnick, advisor).
  • Paul Turpin, University of Southern California. “Liberal Political Economy and Justice: Character and Decorum in the Economic Arguments of Adam Smith and Milton Friedman,” (Walter Fisher, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • Angela G. Ray, The Lyceum and Public Culture in the Nineteenth-Century United States (Michigan State University Press, 2005).

James L. Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award

  • Brandon Inabinet, Northwestern University

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • James Kimble

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance

  • Ron Shields

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • M. Lane Bruner


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Ron Arnett

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Joe MacDoniels