1999 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • John R. Johnson, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • Robert Stockton

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

  • Lynn M. Disbrow, Sinclair Community College

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • Lawrence W. Rosenfield


Scholarship Awards

Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication

  • No award given

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Robert Hariman, “Status, Marginality, and Rhetorical Theory.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 72 (1986): 38-54.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award

  • Barbie Zelizer, Remembering to Forget: Holocaust Memory Through the Camera’s Eye (University of Chicago Press, 1998)
  • Nina Eliasoph, Avoiding Politics: How Americans Produce Apathy in Everyday Life (Cambridge University Press, 1998).

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Michael Leff

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Brian M. O’Connell, “Ethics, Law, and Information Technology: The Transformative Role of Rhetoric.” Social Science Computer Review 16 (1998): 283-92.

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • David R. Seibold

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Robert B. Asen, Northwestern University. “Imagining the Poor: Argument and Imagery in Welfare Policy Discourse, 1980-1996,” (G. Thomas Goodnight, advisor).
  • Troy A. Murphy, University of Pittsburgh. “Rhetoric and Democracy: An Inquiry into the Potential for Citizenship Reclaimed,” (Thomas Kane, advisor).
  • Amy I. Nathanson, University of Wisconsin. “The Immediate and Cumulative Effects of Television Mediation on Children’s Aggression,” (Joanne Cantor, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • Xing Lu, Rhetoric in Ancient China, Fifth to Third Century B.C.E.: A Comparison with Classical Greek Rhetoric (University of South Carolina Press, 1998).

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Lisa Flores

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance

  • Linda M. Park-Fuller

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • Kirk W. Fuoss


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Carolyn Calloway-Thomas

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Bruce E. Gronbeck