1998 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • George W. Ziegelmueller, Wayne State University

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • John Heineman

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

  • No Award Given

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • Donald P. Cushman


Scholarship Awards

Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication

  • John Monsma, Northern Arizona University

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Judee Burgoon and Jerold Hale, “The Fundamental Topoi of Relational Communication.” Communication Monographs 51 (1984): 193-214.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award

  • James Darsey, The Prophetic Tradition and Radical Rhetoric in America. (New York University Press, 1997).

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Celeste Condit

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Donald Fishman, “Conflicting Conceptions of Freedom of Speech in the Aftermath of World War 1, Free Speech Yearbook 34 (1996): 1-23.

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • Gary L. Kreps

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • David Cheshier, University of Iowa, “The Rhetorical Constitution of Late Twentieth Century American Public Spheres,” (Michael Calvin McGee, advisor).
  • Daniel Cochece Davis, University of Southern California. “Development and Initial Tests of a Human Energy Management (HEM) Theory of Communication,” (Michael J. Cody, advisor).
  • William J. Kinsella, Rutgers University. “Communication and the Construction of Knowledge in a Scientific Community: An Interpretive Study of the Princeton University Plasma Physics Laboratory,” (Stanley A. Deetz, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • James Darsey, The Prophetic Tradition and Radical Rhetoric in America (New York University Press, 1997).

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Dana Cloud
  • John Sloop

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance

  • Judy Yordon

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • Della Pollock


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Sue DeWine

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Sharon A. Ratliffe