1997 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • James R. Andrews, Indiana University

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • No award given

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

  • Rex W. Gaskill, Normandale Community College

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • Jane Blankenship


Scholarship Awards

Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication

  • Mary Ann Fitzpatrick, University of Wisconsin

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Michael Osborn, “Rhetorical Depiction.” In Form, Genre, and the Study of Political Discourse, edited by Herbert W. Simons & Aram A. Aghazarian (Columbia: University of South Carolina Press, 1986), 79-107.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award

  • Robert P. Newman, Truman and Hiroshima Cult. (Michigan State University Press, 1995).

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Thomas W. Benson

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Margaret A. Blanchard, “The Twilight of the First Amendment Age?” Communication Law and Policy 1 (1996): 329-365.

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • Patricia Hayes Andrews

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Charles H. Raphael, Northwestern University, “Investigated Reporting: Political-Economic, Representational, and Regulatory Conflicts Over Television Documentary, 1960-1975,” (Rick Maxwell, advisor).
  • Angela J. Latham, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. “Performance Rights: A Historical Performance Ethnography of Contested Displays by American Women, 1920-1930,” (Peter Davis, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • Bonnie J. Dow, Prime-time Feminism: Television, Media Culture, and the Women’s Movement Since 1970 (University of Pennsylvania Press, 1996).

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Mari Boor Tonn

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance

  • Paul C. Edwards

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • Judith A. Hamera


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Anita Taylor

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • James W. Chesebro