1995 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • Kenneth L Brown, University of Massachusetts

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • Robert Neuleib

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

  • M'Liss Hindman, Tyler Junior College

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • Thomas Pace


Scholarship Awards

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Sally A. Jackson & Scott Jacobs, “Generalizing About Messages: Suggestions for Design & Analysis of Experiments.” Human Communication Research 9 (1983): 169-181.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award

  • Roderick Hart, Seducing America: How Television Charms the Modern Voter. (Oxford University Press, 1994).

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Richard A. Cherwitz

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Maurine H. Beasley, “Women and Freedom of the Press: A Preliminary Historical Inquiry,” Free Speech Yearbook 32 (1994): 18-32.

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • Everett M. Rogers

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Greg L. Dickinson, University of Southern California. “Landscapes of Consumption, Landscapes of Memory: The Rhetoric of Modern Urban Consumption,” (Randall A. Lake, advisor).
  • Thomas J. Roach, Northwestern University. “Dissolution of Objectivity: The Third Face of Power and American News Media,” (Thomas B. Farrell, advisor).
  • Audrey Jane Weiss, University of California, Santa Barbara. “Emotional Depictions in Family-Formatter Situation Comedies: Children's Interpretations, Emotional Responses, and Social Learning,” (Barbara J. Wilson, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • John Poulakos, Sophistical Rhetoric in Classical Greece (University of South Carolina Press, 1995).

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Cindy L. Griffin

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance

  • Joanna H. Maclay

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • Mary S. Strine


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Melbourne Cummings

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Beverly Whitaker Long