1994 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • Sheron J. Dailey, Indiana State University

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • No award given

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

  • Darlyn R. Wolvin, Prince George's Community College

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • Robert D. Kully


Scholarship Awards

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • John O. Greene, “A Cognitive Approach to Human Communication: An Action Assembly Theory.” Communication Monographs 51 (1984): 288-306.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award

  • Susan Herbst, Numbered Voices: How Opinion Polling Has Shaped American Politics. (University of Chicago Press, 1994).

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Michael Calvin McGee

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Franklyn Haiman, “Speech Acts” and the First Amendment (Southern Illinois University Press, 1993).

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • Samuel L. Becker

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Carol Bruess, Ohio University. “‘Bare-Chested Hugs’ and ‘Tough Guy's Night’: An Inductive Examination of the Form and Function of Interpersonal Rituals in Marriage and Adult Friendship,” (Judy C. Pearson, advisor).
  • Roy Schwartzman, University of Iowa, “Racial Science, Nazism and the Genesis of Genocide,” (John R. Lyne, advisor).
  • Richard B. McGrath, Indiana University. “Rhetorical Functions of Historical Narrative: The ‘Pentagon Papers’,” (William Wiethoff, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • Thomas B. Farrell, Norms of Rhetorical Culture (Yale University Press, 1993).

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Charles Alan Taylor

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance

  • Raymond Schneider

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • No award given


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Fern Johnson

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Kenneth E. Andersen