1993 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • Charles J. Stewart, Purdue University

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • Adrian W. Frana

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • Carmendale Fernandes


Scholarship Awards

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Linda L. Putnam, “The Interpretive Perspective: An Alternative to Functionalism.” Communication and Organizations: An Interpretive Approach, edited by Linda L. Putnam & Michael E. Pacanowsky (Beverly Hills, CA: Sage, 1983), 31-54.

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • James R. Andrews

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Peter E. Kane, Murder, Courts, and the Press (Southern Illinois University Press, 1992).

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • Donald P. Cushman

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Kathryn L. Greene, University of Georgia, “Egocentrism, Message Explicitness, and AIDS Messages Directed Toward Adolescents: A Test of the Theory of Reasoned Action,” (Donald Rubin, advisor).
  • Thomas N. Peters, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. “A Rhetorical Project for Understanding Scientific Change,” (Joseph W. Wenzel, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • Robert P. Newman, Owen Lattimore and the "Loss" of China (University of California Press, 1992).

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Suzanne M. Daughton

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • Elizabeth C. Fine


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Mark Knapp

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Dennis S. Gouran