1991 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • Beverly D. Sypher,University of Kansas

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • Kathy Oakland

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • W. Charles Redding


Scholarship Awards

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • John M. Wiemann, “Explication and Text of a Model of Communication Competence.” Human Communication Research 3 (1977): 195-213.

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Karlyn Kohrs Campbell

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Raymond S. Rodgers, editor, “The Meaning of the First Amendment: 1791-1991,” Free Speech Yearbook 29 (1991).

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Barbara Louise Baker, University of Southern California. “Reaffirmation and Transformation of Gender in Popular Film:  A Feminist Approach to Mythic Rhetoric,” (Walter Fisher, advisor).
  • Bethami A. Dobkin, University of Massachusetts. “Tale of Terror: News Coverage of Terrorism and the Construction of Public Crisis,” (Jane Blankenship, advisor). 
  • Charles Alan Taylor, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. “The Rhetorical Construction of Science: Demarcation as Rhetorical Practice,” (Joseph W. Wenzel, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • David Zarefsky, Lincoln, Douglas and Slavery: In the Crucible of Public Debate (University of Chicago Press, 1990).

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • James M. Farrell

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • Beverly Whitaker Long


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Bobby R. Patton

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Robert C. Jeffrey