1990 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • George R. Armstrong, Bradley University

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • Carolyn J. Coakley


Scholarship Awards

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Thomas B. Farrell, “Knowledge, Consensus and Rhetorical Theory.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 62 (1976): 1-14.

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Kathleen H. Jamieson

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Carolyn A. Marvin, “Bad Attitudes, Unnatural Acts,” Free Speech Yearbook 28 (1990): 1-7.

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Mark A. Pollock, Northwestern University. “A Reconsideration of the Prospects for Rhetoric in Hannah Arendt's Political Philosophy,” (Thomas B. Farrell, advisor).
  • Rebecca S. Bjork, University of Southern California. “The Strategic Defense Initiative: Symbolic Containment of the Nuclear Threat,” (Thomas A. Hollihan, advisor).
  • Michael W. Salvador, University of Utah. “Coming to Terms with Consumption:  The Rhetoric of American Consumer Unrest,” (Malcolm O. Sillars, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • John Rodden, The Politics of Literary Reputation: The Making of “St. George” Orwell (Oxford University Press, 1989).
  • Karlyn Kohrs Campbell, Man Cannot Speak for Her (Praeger, 1989).

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Stephen H. Browne

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • Frank J. Galati


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Phillip K. Tompkins

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Ernest G. Bormann