1987 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • Richard A. Hunsaker


Scholarship Awards

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Karlyn K. Campbell, “The Rhetoric of Women’s Liberation: An Oxymoron.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 59 (1973): 74-86.

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Michael Osborn

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Ruth McGaffey, “Freedom of Speech for the Ideas We Hate: Nongovernmental Abridgment of Freedom of Expression,” Free Speech Yearbook 26 (1987): 90-103.

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Renée A. Meyers, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. “Argument and Group Decision-Making: An Interactional Test of Persuasive Arguments Theory and an Alternative Structurational Perspective,” (David R. Seibold, advisor).
  • Tamar Katriel, Talking Straight: Dugri Speech in Israeli Sabra Culture (Cambridge University Press, 1986).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • Walter R. Fisher, Human Communication as Narration: Toward a Philosophy of Reason, Value and Action (University of South Carolina Press, 1987).

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Frederick J. Antczak


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Lawrence B. Rosenfeld

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Gerald R. Miller