1984 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Scholarship Awards

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Roderick Hart & Don Burks, “Rhetorical Sensitivity & Social Interaction.” Speech Monographs 39 (1972): 75-91

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Wayne Sander, “Common Law Tort and Contract Erosion of the At Will Rule: New Paths toward Freedom of Speech in the Private Sector Workplace,” Free Speech Yearbook 23 (1984): 1-12.

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Carole Blair, The Pennsylvania State University. “An Archaeological Critique of the History of Rhetorical Theory: Beyond Historical-Critical Dualism in the Analysis of Theoretical Discourse,” (Gerard A. Hauser, advisor).
  • David Branco, University of Iowa. “Dramaturgical Rhetoric: Erving Goffman’s Interactional theory of Communication-Conduct,” (Donovan J. Ochs, advisor).
  • Martha Cooper, The Pennsylvania State University. “The Implications of Foucault’s Archaeological Theory of Discourse for Contemporary Rhetorical Theory and Criticism,” (Gerard A. Hauser, advisor). 

Golden Anniversary Book Award

  • Randall L. Bytwerk, Julius Streicher: The Man who Persuaded a Nation to Hate Jews (Stein and Day, 1983).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • Richard Gregg, Symbolic Inducement and Knowing: A Study in the Foundations of Rhetoric (University of South Carolina Press, 1984).

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Charles R. Conrad


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • No award given

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Robert G. Gunderson