1980 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Scholarship Awards

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • William Bailey, “The Supreme Court and Communication Theory: Contrasting Models of Speech Efficacy,” Free Speech Yearbook 19 (1980): 1-15.

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • James Aune, Northwestern University. “Dialectical Dilemmas: Herbert Marcuse’s Philosophy of Communication,” (Thomas B. Farrell, advisor).
  • Marshall Poole, University of Wisconsin. “A Test of Four Models of Decision Development in Small Groups,” (Joseph Cappella & Dean E. Hewes, advisors).

Golden Anniversary Book Award

  • Barnett Baskerville, The People’s Choice: The Orator in American Society (University Press of Kentucky, 1979).
  • Gerald R. Miller and Norman E. Fontes, Videotape on Trial: A View from the Jury Box (Sage, 1979).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • George Kennedy, Classical Rhetoric and its Christian and Secular Tradition from Ancient to Modern Times (University of North Carolina Press, 1980).

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Lois Einhorn


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • James McCroskey

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • J. Jeffery Auer