1978 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Scholarship Awards

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Stephen A. Smith, “Freedom of Expression in the Confederate States of America,” Free Speech Yearbook 17 (1978): 17-37.

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • James Lee Applegate, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. “Four Investigations of the Relationship between Social Cognitive Development and Person-Centered Regulative and Interpersonal Communication,” (Jesse G. Delia, advisor). 
  • Norman D. Elliott, University of Iowa. “The General Relationship between Language and Cognition in the Developing Child,” (James J. Bradac, advisor).
  • John R. Lyne, University of Wisconsin. “C. S. Pierce on Rhetoric and Communication,” (Lloyd Bitzer, advisor). 

Golden Anniversary Book Award

  • No award given

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • Kurt W. Ritter and James R. Andrews, The American Ideology: Reflections of the Revolution in American Rhetoric (Speech Communication Association, 1978).

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Richard Cherwitz


Service Awards

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Waldo Braden