1971 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Scholarship Awards

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Leonard Hawes, University of Minnesota, “An Empirical Definition and Analysis of Physician-Patient Communication Systems,” (David H. Smith, advisor).
  • Jack Ray, University of Southern California. “Prescriptive Deontic Logic: A Study of Inferences from Linguistic Forms Expressing Choice and Conditional Permission and Obligation,” (James H. McBath, advisor).
  • Robert Sanders, University of Iowa. “Formal Aspects of Figurative Language,” (John W. Bowers & Samuel L. Becker, advisors).

Golden Anniversary Book Award

  • Lester Thonssen, A. Craig Baird, and Waldo Braden, Speech Criticism (2nd Ed.) (Ronald Press, 1970).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • No award given


Service Awards

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Franklin Knower