Committee on International Discussion and Debate

CIDD 2015NCA’s Committee on International Discussion and Debate (CIDD) promotes international understanding and the practice of communication through discussion and debates between students from the United States and other nations.

Generally, two students from another nation travel to the United States and visit host campuses throughout the country for discussion and debate with U.S. students.

Ongoing since 1922, the CIDD program strives to broaden the scope of international exchange, facilitate the international exchange of information and ideas, and reinforce the value of dialogue as a preferred means for resolving international and intercultural differences.

2016 CIDD Japanese Debate Tour—Naruhiko Nakano & Masaya Sasaki 

2015 CIDD British Debate Tour—Matthew Willmore & Francesca Whalen 

2014 CIDD British Debate Tour—Alice Coombes Huntley & Kate Brooks 

2013 CIDD British Debate Tour—Neshay Aqueel & Charlie Morris 

About CIDD 

Specific objectives of the CIDD program are to:

  1. Broaden the scope of international educational and cultural exchanges by providing a channel for the exchange of ideas and attitudes among students and young people in America and throughout the world;
  2. Make possible informal meetings among students, college and university personnel, and the general citizenry of participating countries;
  3. Facilitate the exchange of information and ideas about the educational systems of the countries involved;
  4. Reinforce the importance of dialogue as a preferred means for resolving international and intercultural differences;
  5. Maintain and enhance the ties between the National Communication Association and forensics organizations, forensics programs, and their sponsoring academic departments throughout the United States; and
  6. Provide opportunities to enhance an understanding and appreciation of the discipline of Communication both in other nations and in the United States.

CIDD Leadership
John Kephart, III (California State University-Northridge)
Geoff Klinger (DePauw University)
Wayne Kraemer, (Texas State University)
Theodore Sheckels, Chair (Randolph-Macon College)

Brienne Giese, Tour Coordinator (Aurora University)