NCA Doctoral Honors Seminar

Doctoral Honors SeminarNCA Doctoral Honors Seminars (DHS) bring together promising doctoral students and distinguished faculty members from across the discipline and around the nation to discuss current topics in communication. The seminars are held annually at a selected host institution. Approximately 30 doctoral students are chosen to participate based on submitted papers and recommendations from their advisors. 

The 2015 NCA Doctoral Honors Seminar (DHS) will be held July 16-19, 2015, in Columbia, Missouri. The Department of Communication at the University of Missouri will serve as host for the 2015 DHS. The theme of the 2015 DHS is “Solving Social Problems through Communication Research.” In selecting this theme, the host department seeks to highlight Communication scholarship that addresses pressing issues of social concern. Through collaboration with seminar facilitators, participants will explore avenues through which their research can foster interdisciplinary connections, achieve wider public dissemination, and be applied in service of the public good. Around this seminar theme, students will be placed into one of three groups reflective of the conventional divisions of Communication study and used in prior seminars, including Rhetoric, Mass Media, and Communication as a Social Science.    

Faculty Seminar Leaders for the 2015 DHS include Communication & Social Science facilitators: Mohan Dutta (National University of Singapore & Purdue University), Patricia Parker (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), and Jordan Soliz (University of Nebraska-Lincoln); Mass Media facilitators: Lissa Behm-Morawitz (University of Missouri), Travis Dixon (University of Illinois), and Kristen Harrison (University of Michigan); Rhetoric facilitators: Dan Brouwer (Arizona State University), Sharon Jarvis (University of Texas at Austin), and Robin Jensen (University of Utah).     

Applications and letters of nomination are due April 27, 2015. To apply, please download and complete the application form available here (Word) (PDF). Submit the completed form, along with a letter of nomination from your doctoral advisor or another faculty member from your doctoral program, and also a completed paper/essay/dissertation chapter reflective of your research program (the paper submitted should not exceed 30 pages including references, tables/figures, etc.). The full application packet (to include: 1. application form; 2. nomination letter; and 3. representative paper) should be e-mailed as a single PDF file to Dr. Mitchell S. McKinney at  

Past NCA Doctoral Honors Seminar Host Institutions
1970 (Fall)—Michigan State University
1971 (Spring)—University of Iowa; University of Texas
1971 (Fall)—The Pennsylvania State University; Florida State University
1972 (Spring)—University of Denver; University of Wisconsin
1973—Northwestern University; Purdue University
1974—University of Massachusetts
1975—Michigan State University
1976—University of Massachusetts
1978—University of Michigan
1979—The Pennsylvania State University
1981—Bowling Green State University
1982 (Spring)—Ohio University
1982 (Fall)—Louisiana State University
1983—Kent State University
1984—Ohio University
1987—University of Georgia
1988—University of Massachusetts
1989—University of Georgia
1992—Indiana University
1998—Northwestern University
1999—University of Illinois 
2000—Northwestern University
2001—University of Texas
2002—No DHS 
2003—Bowling Green State University
2004—University of New Mexico 
2005—University of Oklahoma 
2006—Purdue University
2007—University of Colorado
2008—University of Alabama 
2009—West Virginia University
2010—University of Utah 
2011—North Dakota State University 
2012—University of Southern California
2013—University of Maine
2014—University of Maryland 


Contact Trevor Parry-Giles with questions about the NCA DHS.

Learn how your institution can become a DHS host. (pdf)