James L. Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award

Awards: James L GoldenThis award was created as an essay competition to encourage and support student research. The essay should focus on the history, theory, or criticism of rhetoric. The award can be given to undergraduate or graduate students. The first award was given in 2002. A laureate group is recognized in addition to the overall winning essayist


2013      Hillary Palmer, University of Georgia
2012 Tiara Foster, Syracuse University
2011 Katie Irwin, University of Illinois
2010 Elliot Heilman, Northwestern University
2009 Jaclyn Howell, University of Kansas
2008 Francesca Marie Smith, Stanford University
2007 Theresa A. Donofrio, University of Maryland
2006 Brandon Inabinet, Northwestern University
2005 Mary Lynn Veden, University of Washington
2004 Cindy Koenig, Northwestern University
2003 Allison Gleghorn, Missouri State University
2002 Joel McKim, Concordia University